Corkey Harmon
County Member
City Member
Chris Kelstrom
County Member
City Member
City Member
Allen Long
County Member Alternate
City Member Alternate



Special District Member
Ronnean Lund
Special District Member

Fred Ryness

Michael Spencer Public Member Alternate

Larry Russell

Public Member

Rosemary Smith Special District Alternate

AGENDA ITEM 1.E.

Date: April 3, 2025

From: Krystle Heaney, Executive Officer

Subject: Designation of Chair and Vice Chair for 2025 Calendar Year

The Commission will consider designating a Chair and Vice Chair for the 2025 calendar

year.

BACKGROUND

It is the policy of the Commission to annually designate a Chair and Vice Chair among its regular members. Per Shasta LAFCO policy 2.5.2, the election should be conducted as follows:

- 1. Call for nominations and seconds for Chairman.
- 2. Nominations for Chairman closed.
- 3. Call for voice vote; announcement of result.
- 4. Call for nominations and seconds for Vice-Chairman.
- 5. Nominations for Vice-Chairman closed.
- 6. Call for voice vote; announcement of result.

It is common practice that the Chair and Vice Chair be selected from different categories of membership (County, City, Special District, Public). The below table shows a five-year history of officer positions.

YEAR	CHAIR	VICE CHAIR
2024	Larry Russell	Fred Ryness
2023	Irwin Fust/ Stan Neutze	Stan Neutze/ Larry Russell
2022	Irwin Fust	Stan Neutze
2021	Irwin Fust	Joe Chimenti
2020	Irwin Fust	Stan Neutze

DISCUSSION

The designated Chair would be seated upon selection and preside for the remainder of the LAFCo meeting unless preferred otherwise.

RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends the Commission designate a Chair and Vice Chair for the 2025 calendar year.