Patrick Jones County Member Pamelyn Morgan

Pamelyn Morgan City Member Alternate Stan Neutze

Michael Dacquisto City Member

City Member

Irwin Fust Special District Member

Mary Rickert County Member Alternate

Vacant Special District Member



Larry Russell Public Member

Joe Chimenti County Member

Fred Ryness Special District Alternate Katharine Ann Campbell Public Member Alternate George Williamson Executive Officer James M. Underwood General Counsel

> Kathy Bull Manager

Date: December 9, 2022

From: George Williamson, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Office Manager

Subject: NOTICE OF NOMINATION PERIOD AND NOTICE OF INTENTION TO CONDUCT

**MAILED BALLOT ELECTION** 

Notice is hereby given that the Shasta Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is seeking nominations for Special District Member (Seat 2) to serve on the Shasta LAFCO Commission. The elected member will serve the remainder of the four-year term ending in January 2024, due to vacancy created by current member not being re-elected to their District Board. The current special district members are provided below.

Designation	Current Special District Members on LAFCO	Term End
Member (Seat 1)	Irwin Fust, Clear Creek Community Service District	1/2024
Member (Seat 2)	Vacant	1/2024
Alternate Member	Fred Ryness, Anderson Burney Water District	1/2024

The basic process for selecting Special District Members to LAFCO is set forth in Government Code Section 56332. This provides for a meeting to be convened among representatives from each of the 35 independent special districts in Shasta County, unless the Executive Officer determines that a meeting is not feasible. Based on Government Code Section 56332, it has been determined that a meeting of this "Independent Special District Selection Committee" for the purpose of selecting a special district member is not feasible at this time due to the likelihood that a quorum would not be achieved. As such, both the nominating process and the election itself is being conducted by mail on behalf of the Independent Special District Selection Committee by the Shasta LAFCO Executive Officer.

Your district is encouraged to participate in this election process. An election schedule is enclosed together with a list of the 35 independent districts in Shasta County that are eligible to participate. If your district wishes to nominate a Board Member to be a candidate for the Shasta LAFCO Special District Member (Seat 2), the following rules for eligibility and for submitting nominations apply:

- 1. Your Board may nominate only one candidate for each special district seat. Enclosed is a nomination form.
- 2. Nominees must be elected or appointed special district officers (members of a governing board) of an independent special district in Shasta County.
- 3. Selection of a nominee is to be approved by a majority of your governing board. The name of the nominee is to be submitted on the attached Nomination Form and is to be signed by either the President/Chair or the Clerk of your governing board.
- 4. The nominee is encouraged to provide the additional information requested on the Candidate Information Sheet. This information will be summarized on the final ballot and will be kept on file at the LAFCO office.
- 5. All qualified nominees will be listed on the final ballot. The candidate securing the highest votes for each seat will be elected.
- 6. The Nomination Form must be returned no later than **February 1, 2023**, to Shasta LAFCO, 999 Mission De Oro, Suite 106, Redding, California 96003.

## **Election Schedule**

Action	Date of Action		
Shasta LAFCO request for nominations mailed to independent Special Districts via certified mail and email.	Mailed by December 9, 2022		
Nominations due to Shasta LAFCO	Received by 4:00 p.m. February 1, 2023		
Ballots mailed to independent Special Districts via certified mail and email.	Mailed by February 3, 2023		
Ballots due to Shasta LAFCO	Received by 4:00 p.m. March 27, 2023		
Ballots opened and tallied at the Shasta LAFCO office; successful candidate notified.	By March 28, 2023		
Election results mailed to independent Special Districts via U.S. mail and email.	Mailed by March 29, 2022		

The successful candidate is expected to be seated on the Shasta LAFCO Commission at the next regularly scheduled Commission Meeting on April 6, 2023.

## **Independent Special Districts**

Anderson Fire Protection District	Halcumb Cemetery District			
Anderson-Cottonwood Irrigation District	Happy Valley Fire Protection District			
Bella Vista Water District	Igo-Ono Community Services District			
Buckeye Fire Protection District	Manton Joint Cemetery District			
Burney Basin Mosquito Abatement District	Mayers Memorial Hospital District			
Burney Cemetery District	Millville Fire Protection District			
Burney Fire Protection District	Millville Masonic & Odd Fellows Cemetery District			
Burney Water District	Mountain Gate Community Services District			
Castella Fire Protection District	Pine Grove/ Fall River Mills Cemetery District			
Centerville Community Services District	Pine Grove Mosquito Abatement District			
Clear Creek Community Services District	Shasta Community Services District			
Cottonwood Fire Protection District	Shasta Lake Fire Protection District			
Cottonwood Water District	Shasta Mosquito and Vector Control District			
Fall River Valley Community Services District	South Shasta Cemetery District			
Fall River Valley Fire Protection District	Tucker Oaks Water District			
Fall River Resource Conservation District	Western Shasta Resource Conservation District			

#### Other Information

General information about LAFCO is available at <a href="www.shastalafco.org">www.shastalafco.org</a>. Should you have any questions, please contact the Shasta LAFCO office at 999 Mission De Oro Drive, Suite 106, Redding, CA 96003, by phone at (530) 242-1112, or by e-mail at <a href="manager@shastalafco.org">manager@shastalafco.org</a>.

Attachments: Nomination Form

Candidate Information Sheet

## **NOMINATION FORM**

## Regular Special District Member – Seat 2

District Name	:				
Address	:				
Contact Person	:				
Contact Email	:				
Telephone	:				
The Board hereby nomin	nates				to fill the
•					
remainder of the four-ye		,	•		
Agency Formation Com	mission repr	resenting indep	endent Special D	istricts in Sh	nasta County.
Board action taken on th	ie	_ day of	,	20 by th	e following vote:
Ayes:					
Noes:					
Abstain:					
Absent:					
Signature of Board Pres	ident/Clerk	<del>_</del>			
3 2 1 1 1					
Printed Name		_			

This Nomination Form must be received by Shasta LAFCO no later than February 1, 2023

# CANDIDATE INFORMATION SHEET Nominated for Regular Special District Member – Seat 2

Candidate Name					
Address					
Telephone					
E-mail					
District					
Title					
Length of service with District:					
Present Occupation:					
Personal and Professional Background:					
r disorial and 1 folessional Background.					
Summarize your interest in serving on Shasta LAFCO:					
Summarize your qualifications for serving on Shasta LAFCO:					
List local government involvement:					
List civic organization involvement:					
List special interests or hobbies:					